Two Sentence Book Club

5088254388_3a32e61ab8_bLooking at past posts, I realized that the last book review I did was Beautiful Ruins and the last book I mentioned was Wuthering Heights. Well, folks, I’ve done a LOT of reading since then. And while I’m not as prolific as my friend Alison, I feel like I can hold my own when it comes to literary talk. So, as the weather gets colder and you’re more prone to curl up on the couch with a book, I figured everyone could beef up their reading list with these quick two sentence reviews.

Must reads:

Stay away:

I could go on but figured this would get you started. I’m currently reading “Bringing Up Bébé” by Pamela Druckerman, a book on French parenting seen through the eyes of an American in Paris. It’s fascinating, considering my background, but definitely not a good fit for everyone.

What have you been reading lately? Any thoughts on the books I posted above? Disagreements? What should be on my book list?

Image: az by d-221 books

Tagged , ,

3 thoughts on “Two Sentence Book Club

  1. Dennis Hickey says:

    I am actually reading Wolf Hall and enjoying it. It is dense though and tough to follow. Reading Gilead at the same time. I can only take them in doses.

    Gilead reminds me of A River Runs Through It, which was a haunting and beautiful novel, just like the move. Dennis & Carol Hickey

    • Adam says:

      I’m not surprised that you like the book that I completely didn’t. 🙂 I’ve also heard really good things about Marilynne Robinson – her first book Housekeeping is currently on my list to read. The writing is supposed to be beautiful.

    • Corey says:

      I also really enjoyed Wolf Hall and Bring Up the Bodies. Listening to them as audiobooks probably made it easier, and having seen The Tudors television series was very helpful in keeping track of the huge cast of characters and many plotlines.

Leave a Reply

