Friday Favs

It’s Friday! Friday! Gotta get down on Friday!

Sorry, I couldn’t help myself – I’m just so excited for my days off! Even if they are just the weekend. But enough about me, below are some of the interesting bleeps that crossed my radar this week. Is it 5 p.m. yet?

February Book of the Month – “Wuthering Heights” by Emily Bronte

novel-wuthering-heights-classic-black-and-white-storiy-Favim.com-558258I’ve talked about it enough but in case you’re new, we have an online book club going! Our first read was “Beautiful Ruins” by Jess Walter, a bestseller from 2012, and in honor of Valentine’s Day, we’re tackling one of the most romantic stories of all: “Wuthering Heights.” I’m actually very unfamiliar with the plot as I’ve never read the book but, as you know, I’ll let you know what I think. 

A Pep Talk from Kid President to You

This has been posted everywhere so I don’t expect it to be new for you – except if you’re my parents, however, we can all use a pep talk every once in a while and this is a damn good one. Best kept for Mondays and Wednesdays.

Paperman – A Disney Short

Nominated for an Oscar and now fully on YouTube, you have no reason to not check out the endearing, black and white tale Disney so masterfully created. The story is effortless and perfectly marries the old cartoon feel with modern animation technology. This one will have you sighing with delight by the end, attempting to fold paper planes until one of them magically whisks you away in the breeze.

Beyonce Superbowl Interview

“Is there anything she can’t do? Well, she can’t drink Coke.” – Savannah Guthrie on TODAY

It’s probably one of my favorite soundbites to come out of the popular morning show and is, of course, referencing the artist’s $50 million endorsement deal with Pepsi. You have to hand it to Beyonce though, she never really lets it go to her head. I can’t wait to see her half time show. I can’t wait to watch some great commercials. And I can’t wait to drink some good beer. Isn’t that what the Superbowl’s all about?

Tagged , , , , , , , , , ,

5 thoughts on “Friday Favs

  1. Dennis Hickey says:

    Actually your Father had seen The Pep Talk from the Kid President before you sent it via Cam.

  2. Dennis Hickey says:

    Loved the Paperman!

Leave a Reply

