Friday Favs

I was a little more organized this week and able to get my Friday Favs up on Friday and not use my busy schedule as a poor excuse for posting on Sunday. Lesson learned. One thing you’ll notice below is an alliteration of Gs! This was actually unplanned until I noticed that four of the topics I was talking about started with the same letter. It also helps that two things to come out of this week are from Google.

Good Music

Phillip Phillips is the man. While his debut, post-American Idol album came out three weeks ago, I was only made aware of it on Monday and have been looping it since. Most of you probably know him from the Olympics and his now memorable song “Home” that was used in commercials and highlight reels of the events. Luckily for us, the rest of his music is just as catchy, uncomplicated and easy on the ears. Unlike his reality TV show peers, he decided to stray from the catchy pop tunes an instead stay true to his more vocal and acoustic influences. Well done!

Girl and the Goat

Now picture this place filled to the brim with people.

Now picture this place filled to the brim with people.

Anyone living in Chicago or remotely interested in the culinary world has heard of Girl and the Goat. First restaurant from “Top Chef” winner Stephanie Izard, it was voted Saveur’s Best New Restaurant, received a James Beard nomination and is known for taking three months to get a reservation. I made my GATG debut earlier this week and wasn’t disappointed. The decor is very rustic with charred wood paneling, colorful artwork and pops of cotton trees. The dim lighting only heightens the intimate atmosphere, creating a cozy place to catch up with friends and dine on some stick-to-your-bones American cuisine. Served as tapas meant for sharing, you can choose from an extensive list of veggie, fish and meat platters. Between four of us, we managed to down about eight, which came to $40 per person. When you consider that you’re eating at one of the best restaurants in the country, it’s well worth it. Oh, and the Pig Face is one of the best things I’ve ever eaten.

Google 2012 Zeitgeist

You probably saw this video appear in your Facebook newsfeed a few times this week but just in case you didn’t, I thought I would include it here. Like I mentioned, I love the yearly recaps that are synonymous with December and this is just another example of a great one. Known for commercials that can make even grown men cry, Google explores 2012 through the abundant searches that were done on its platform. What you’re left with is a triumph of human achievement, a basket case of emotions and memories that will keep 2012 branded in your mind.

Golden Globe Nominations

Award season is starting and I couldn’t be more excited. The first to kick off this joyous time of year is the Golden Globes that released their list of nominees yesterday. While I’m not looking forward to watching all the politically charged movies (i.e. “Lincoln,” “Argo,” “Zero Dark Thirty” etc.) that usually dominate the Oscars and other prominent ceremonies, I am excited to see Tina Fey and Amy Poehler in action. This was truly a match made in heaven.

Google Maps for iOS6

4S-5047This is more of a selfish one since the day has finally arrived for me to update the software on my iPhone! iOS6 was released three months ago and while it deserved praise for its new features, it instead was drowned under criticism for its new Apple Maps application. Yes, the maps had some visually pleasing features but those fell to the wayside when people started to notice glitches (spawning a dedicated Tumblr page) and the lack of public transportation information – the #1 reason I use the app in the first place. With all that in mind, I decided to keep my reliable iOS5 until Apple could figure things out, notably fire the ones responsible for the fiasco. But, that time has finally come to an end as I am up to speed on technology! Now, if I could only get an early upgrade for an iPhone 5 …

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

4 thoughts on “Friday Favs

  1. Hey! Do you know if they make any plugins to help with SEO?
    I’m trying to get my blog to rank for some targeted keywords but I’m not seeing very good success.
    If you know of any please share. Thanks!

  2. I’m curious to find out what blog platform you happen to be working with? I’m having some small security
    problems with my latest website and I would like to find something more safe.
    Do you have any suggestions?

  3. health info says:

    Hi my family member! I want to say that this post is awesome,
    nice written and come with approximately all vital infos.

    I’d like to look more posts like this .

Leave a Reply

