Nintendo, A Legacy

Thanks to this post, I risk exposing myself as a geek through and through but I owe so many memories to Nintendo that I just don’t care. As originally mentioned here, I grew up with the now iconic game consoles and stumbling across the above video just brought me back to my childhood, college and even this year.

The Original Gameboy

I believe I got this as a birthday present from my grandmother when I was young enough to count my age on just two hands. My first game was “Super Mario Land 2: Eight Golden Coins” and I played it so often that I could probably complete each level with my eyes closed – every jump, fireball and wing flap became a reflex. Later on, one of my greatest accomplishments was completing “The Legend of Zelda: Link’s Awakening.” Seriously, it must have taken me years. Finally, the other franchise that I just couldn’t get enough of was Pokemon. I remember buying the Blue version and spending hours upon hours evolving those little creatures. Recently, as in this past summer, I completed Pokemon White. #notashamed

Sidenote: I was on the way to camp one year when I let someone play Pokemon making them promise to not save their version. If you know anything about the game, you’re aware that if you start a new “adventure” and save it, it erases the previous one, thus sending hundreds of hours of gameplay down the drain. As fate would have it, she (yes, a girl – I should have known better) killed my level 65 Blastoise. I have never forgiven nor will I ever forget. 

Nintendo 64

N64 was one of my first major purchases (the second being my stereo system). I saved up for a full summer feeding the neighbor’s cat, mowing lawns and counting my allowance to buy this shiny new toy for 899 francs. When I was checking out, the cashier dared to say that I didn’t have enough money and, being very determined, I quickly replied with a: “There’s enough money. You should count again.” This new console was like taking a magic carpet ride into a whole new world, one that I still visit today. Super Mario 64, The Legend of Zelda: Ocarina of Time, Super Smash Bros and Mario Kart are just some of the games that got played hours on end and that I truly believe shaped the childhood of my generation. While in college, you could often find me and my fraternity brothers late to class because we had to face off in one last race or battle to prove our superior prowess and knowledge of the game. Now, the only difference is that my roommate and I play while sipping on a beer.

Gameboy Color, Gameboy Advance, Gameboy DS

These were wonderful upgrades to my original Gameboy but they were just that. I bought all the sequels to the games that I knew and loved but was now grateful that they were in color. I can only image when my kids will incredulously wonder how I survived with a black and white screen and non-3D special effects. On that note, I need to figure out when the next Legend of Zelda is coming out – got to stay current!

Do you have any gaming memories? What was your favorite game?

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

