Another Star Fades

I was hanging out with some friends last night when I received the news through a text message that Whitney Houston had died. Naturally, my first reaction was incredulousness. However, after a few Google searches and a couple of Tweets later, it seemed that the once acclaimed diva and struggling drug addict had actually passed. Her name is now standing in my mind next to that of Michael Jackson, another artist that was taken too soon and who’s loss actually struck a cord.

I’ve slowly realized that I am now of the age where not only will I know of the celebrities that die but am also familiar with their body of work. As a kid, and even a teenager, I would hear of their deaths and just brush them off since they didn’t resonate with me. Now, I spend hours reading up on their lives (did you know Whitney Houston won 415 awards?), watching videos of them on Youtube and joining my voice to those who express condolences and sadness over their loss. I’m sure this will continue to happen and as it does, I will catalog their names and performances away in my head so that I can be sure to bring them out for my kids to enjoy just as much as I did.

With that, I leave you with what is undoubtedly Whitney’s most popular song and a Grammy performance that is certain to be echoed during tonight’s awards ceremony. Hopefully she felt unending love in the last days of a troubled life.

What is your favorite Whitney song? Have any other celebrity deaths meant anything to you?

Tagged , , , , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Another Star Fades

  1. akcomputer says:

    At the video store, they had a Whitney section at the front register with The Bodyguard, Waiting to Exhale and The Prince of Egypt (apparently she wrote the Best Original Song).

    I thought it was pretty funny, but I’ll miss her too.

Leave a Reply

