What Adam’s Reading: “Something Borrowed” by Emily Giffin

Well, I expected to have a different post up before I blogged about another book I read but clearly, I was sucked into this one in the “I just need a quick, entertaining read” kind of way.

I’m not even going to provide a full synopsis of this book because there’s not really much to talk about. The narrative follows a woman who’s her best friend’s maid of honor in her upcoming nuptials. Instead of throwing herself into the hectic responsibilities of helping plan a wedding, she sleeps with the groom and spends the next 250 pages beating herself up over it. Of course, everything works out for the best and she comes out on top. The end.

So yes, it’s your typical chick flick and I hate to say it, but Emily Giffin just isn’t as good as a writer as Lauren Weisberger. This is my round-about way of telling you to read “The Devil Wears Prada” or “Everyone Worth Knowing” before picking up one of Giffin’s pastel covered books.

I did want to point out one passage though:

“About two weeks [after moving to New York with no job], a man waltzed into the Monkey Bar, ordered a whiskey sour and began to chat Darcy up. By the time he finished his drink, he had promised her a job at one of Manhattan’s top PR firms. He told her to come in for an interview, but that he would (wink, wink) make sure that she got the job. Darcy took his business card, had me revise her resume, went in for the interview, and got an offer on the spot. Her starting salary was seventy thousand dollars. Plus an expense account.”

Clearly Giffin has no idea what she’s talking about. I speak from experience when I say that that would NEVER happen, but that’s another post for another time.

Summary:

  • Grade: B- (the entertaining factor bumps it up from a C+)
  • What it’s about: An insecure Manhattan lawyer who sleeps with her best friend’s fiance and has to deal with the consequences … or not.
  • Who should read this book: Those that like the classic chick-flick genre.
  • When you should read it: At a time when you need a light read, preferably on a plane. Yeah, this is more of an airport book.
  • Where to find it: Amazon.com for $9.

So how about you? Do you like chick-flick books? What ones have you read recently?

PS: Check out some of my other book reviews here

PPS: My good friends, Alison and Laura, and I are starting a book club. See what Alison had to say about it here. Also, our February book is “Room,” so get your hands on it now if you want to read it with us!

2 thoughts on “What Adam’s Reading: “Something Borrowed” by Emily Giffin

  1. Katherine says:

    Have you seen the movie? It looked pretty bad. You should check out Blue Nights by Joan Didion, I just finished it. It was beautiful and a quick read.

    • Adam says:

      I haven’t seen the movie, and don’t really care to. I feel like I can spend my time doing other things. “Blue Nights” sounds depressing …

Leave a Reply

