#followfriday: Foodbeast

Since I’m usually scrambling for ideas on what to write about, I thought I would take a page from TwitterYes, I linked to the Twitter homepage so that all of you that don’t have a handle can get one. It’s the 21st century, people!

Every Friday, Twitter users encourage their fans to follow people they enjoy reading up on. For example, if I were a big Glee watcher, I would Tweet the following: “#followfriday @msleamichele, @chriscolfer and @corymonteith,” some of the main actors from the show. Alright, enough for the Twitter lesson. That’ll be another post for another time. 

Every Friday, I thought I would introduce you to some of the blogs or websites I really enjoy reading. If you’re looking for an easy way to keep track of your favorite sites, I recommend Google Reader, which is a website aggregator that allows you to read any new posts in an easy, newspaper-like format (tutorial here).

One of the first websites I started following was Foodbeast.com, which I had to monitor on a regular basis for my first client. They focus specifically on food news, such as the new strawberry-filled churros from Del Taco or the state-of-the-art, sushi-selling Walgreens that just opened in downtown Chicago. Their best posts, however, are the food-related novelties that they come across, like the drinking game on the outside of Corona six-packs or the world’s largest coffee cup.

Overall, it’s a quick, easy read that will keep you updated on the latest of the food industry and allow you to impress your friends with whatever crazy gadgets they introduce you to.

Have you ever heard of it? Any food sites you would recommend that are non-cooking related?

PS: I’m going to house all my #followfridays on this tab of the blog, so check back regularly for updates.

PPS: If you want to follow me on Twitter, all you have to do is click here.

Leave a Reply

