Fall Is Here.

View From My Office

“Don’t you love New York in the Fall? It makes me wanna buy school supplies. I would send you a bouquet of newly sharpened pencils if I knew your name and address. On the other hand, this not knowing has its charms.”

That’s probably the most iconic Fall quote from an instant 1998 classic and although I don’t live in New York City, it can apply to any place that witnesses the charm of changing leaves.

It’s safe to say that Fall is one of my favorite seasons and I’m not ashamed to admit that I think the same thing about Winter and Summer. Spring is just that damp, cold period of the year that doesn’t offer anything more than impatience for the warm and sunny months ahead.

When I think about Fall, I think about the start of school, pumpkins and football. Anyone who grew up with me would never have thought that I would come to value the quintessential American sport. Although my dad coached American Football as it was called in France, I never grew to appreciate it until I moved to Mizzou and was surrounded by hordes of students dressed in black and gold, yelling “M-I-Z” at the top of their lungs. Now, instead of watching the Tigers lead our team to victory from the sidelines of Faurot Field, I cheer to their touchdowns by raising my beer from the comfortable benches of Sedgwick’s. Well, maybe I just catch up with good friends over a cold brew and lift my head when I hear other fans cheering.

Either way, I’ve ushered in this treasured season with some homemade pumpkin bread, a bottle of Oktoberfest beer and a grinning jack-o-latern. This weekend, I’m headed to Columbia, Mo., for another fall tradition: Homecoming. I’m sure you’ll hear an earful of that experience next week. Until then, what traditions do you enjoy at this time of year?

PS: Bonus points for whoever can guess where the quote is from.

Tagged , , , , , ,

5 thoughts on “Fall Is Here.

  1. Katherine says:

    you’ve got mail. duh.

  2. True story: I wanted to comment last night when I got the email notification of a new blog post (I might be stalking you) but then I decided I didn’t want to be too blatant about my stalking. And now this comment negates all of that, so…oops!

Leave a Reply

